Tense abs

Yesterday I was asked by Dan what area I wanted to work on to which I replied “my core” … Oh boy. I didn’t feel the burn too much at the end of my session but the DOMS is pretty bad today so I must’ve done something good!

Dan set me 8 minutes and 8 types of crunches; 1 type with as many reps in 1 minute, no break before the next.

I accomplished the following:
Basic crunches – 14
Cross over crunches right side – 10
Cross over crunches left side – 12
Clam – 13
Sliding crunches – 16
Bicycle crunches – 12
Plank – 50 seconds before I gave out
Raised legs crunches – 20

After a breather and a stretch I then did 12 weighted crunches with a 2.5kg disc.

I then wanted to do a little bit on my thighs as I’ve been focusing so much purely on my upper body so I did 30 squats at 12.5kg – 15 normal squats, 15 wide-legged squats. I’ve not varied my squats at all as of late so I felt the burn then!

Tomorrow is our last weights day before we go visit Dan’s family in Wales so we’ll be doing Insanity towards the end of the week down there. I’ve been doing a lot of weight-based training so it’ll be good to do some intense cardio to make sure my heart’s still happy. 😉

I’m hoping to repeat this workout sometime in the near future to see if I can beat my reps, or if I find them easier, to gauge how my core has been progressing.

Hope my fellow Brits had a good bank holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

