5 things guaranteed to make you miserable on your fitness journey

I’ve brought this back up to the top of my blog because it’s very important to remember.

1. Don’t starve yourself

Do not ever attempt to starve yourself to your goal, it is detrimental to your health and as soon as you start eating normally again, it’ll pile back on. Never go under 1,200 calories a day for women and 1,600 for men.

2. Don’t ignore cravings

If you get cravings, it means you’re human. If you’re hankering after your favourite food that you know is bad for you and you ignore it, it’ll get worse until you eat more than you wanted to. If you have a craving for something sweet, try a healthy snack first such as fruit (dates are great for satisfying choc cravings) or have a small portion. If you find yourself feeling guilty after, then just push harder at the gym to make it worth it. Don’t deny yourself something if you want it badly.

3. Don’t expect your family/friends to support you

Some people really don’t understand why you’d want to work hard to get a good body. My family don’t understand and they don’t support it, my boyfriend prefers curvy girls but what matters at the end of the day is what I want and I can support myself.

4. Don’t do exercises you don’t enjoy

If you don’t like them, don’t do them! I don’t like swimming unless it’s in the ocean so I don’t go to our local swimming pool. If you don’t like running, don’t go running, if you don’t like Zumba, don’t go to the classes. I love running, weightlifting and Zumba so I make sure to do them every week.

5. Do not compare yourself to others

This is a huge one, please avoid it at all costs. Sometimes you’re ahead, sometimes you’re behind. Maybe Marie can do more press ups than you and Amanda can run further, but this is about you. You’re you and they are most likely wanting to be better than they already are because they’re comparing themselves to people ahead of them. We’re all different and everyone has a right to be exactly where they are in their journey, don’t forget that.

4 thoughts on “5 things guaranteed to make you miserable on your fitness journey

  1. The family/ friends support is the toughest for me. Thats why I ended up starting my blog. I like rambling about fitness to people who understand or congratulate me for running 5 miles rather than people who say, 5 miles? Thats dumb.

    • Totally agree, Ashley. I think it reaches a point where they finally accept it, but it’s always best to remember who you’re doing it for and it won’t matter so much, that’s what I do. Keep at it, girl! 🙂

  2. This is entirely true from beginning to end. When I told my mom that I planned on running a marathon someday, she laughed and was like YEAHok! But that really hasn’t deterred me from my goals. Everything you said is totally right. Keep it up and you’ll reap the rewards. At least you have a supportive base here on wordpress!

Leave a Reply

