My first ever beach run

Distance ran 2.5km, excluding walking warm up and cool down
Time running: 21:17

Today’s surfing lesson was postponed until tomorrow because the waves were too small. I thought it was pretty good of the surfing company to call and be honest that I would be disappointed if I went today, another company would have probably taken my money anyway. So if tomorrow’s swell is better, I’ll be having my first ever surfing lesson at 4pm. I’m excited, but mostly nervous and wondering what the hell I’m going to do about my glasses, haha.

So instead I went for a run, the beach was very quiet because it had been raining lightly on and off all day and the British spend most of the time complaining about the weather when it’s sunny and the rest of the time avoiding the rain like a plague. Having a horse that needs looking after and two dogs that need walking daily, I have had to get used to all weather. Naturally I’d prefer warm, dry weather but I won’t dissolve out in the rain so I’m happy out in that too.

Running on sand for the first time was quite an experience. I was cringing at the thought of how stinky my running shoes are going to be after having wet sand in them, but I’ll deal. I must have been tenser than usual trying to adjust and keep my core stability because I found my shoulders to be tense and stiff afterwards. My calves didn’t protest like I expected them to, but I definitely got some feedback from my gluteus maximus!

The path after the beach was a typical British coastal path; undulating with unstable ground and packed full of tourists. Between catching my breath running up the steep hills and trying to politely overtake people out for an afternoon stroll, I was holding my ab muscles steady to keep my balance and thankfully it worked as I didn’t trip.

When I turned around and went back, I ran on the beach barefoot and ankle-deep in the ocean, it was absolutely blissful being able to cool my tired feet in the water and I had to keep reminding myself I’d ruin my Gymboss if I were to jump in completely. My sister can vouch for me when I say I am like a labrador, if you take me around water, I will absolutely have to be in it and it always makes me inexplicably happy.

I can’t wait to try surfing tomorrow or sometime this week and hopefully being able to jump in the sea one day after my run. It’ll probably have to be after Thom gets here because I’ll have to persuade him to hold my Gymboss while I run into the ocean and dive a la Baywatch.

I bloody love the seaside!

17 thoughts on “My first ever beach run

  1. Love the comment about dissolving! When we were kids and didn’t want to go in the rain, my father would ask us if we were made of brown sugar, and would therefore dissolve in the rain šŸ˜€ Oh, and I think you might have to go without the glasses!?

    • I’m just a bit anxious about what to do if they’re trying to give me hand signals from the beach to communicate and I can’t see. I’m going to talk to them this morning to warn them in advance so maybe they can get a brightly coloured flag or diving goggles for me to wear over the top (how utterly attractive) šŸ˜‰

  2. Wow! I’ve never ran at the beach, I hear it’s pretty intense! I am also a beach lover! I would be the happiest person living in the seaside and waking up each morning to the sound of the waves!!

    • Depends on if you run on the wet sand or dry. Dry was brutal, wet was easy but I still felt a noticeable resistance in comparison to dirt or tarmac. While I’m here I keep asking myself why I live in a landlocked county, haha.

Leave a Reply

