It’s A-Okay if you need a rest day

Image source unknown, found via LighterPortions.com

Fitness freaks and athletes alike often beat themselves up when they don’t feel up to exercising one particular day that is not their usual rest day. It’s pretty easy to see why, I often notice on the internet things flying around with quotes such as “the only work out you regret is the one you don’t do!” which is meant to serve as inspiration, but sometimes it’s not as helpful as you’d think.

The odd thing is, it is absolutely fine to give yourself a break if you need one, so long as it is not an excuse to procrastinate. I’m having a down day, I’m worried about many things that are affecting my mood and the first rainy day in over 10 days probably isn’t helping either.

I was pretty psyched about the idea of working out this morning, but as the day’s gone on, I’ve realised that I’m just not feeling up to it. Yes, work outs improve your mood, but I’ve already had some cardio today by riding my horse for an hour. She does wonders for my wellbeing and even she couldn’t lift my bad mood for long today, as soon as I drove out of the gate and back home, the mental grey cloud returned.

I’m generally a very positive and upbeat person, I’ve even been told my attitude is “sickening” in the past because I’m so bright and optimistic. So it is unusual and takes a lot for me to have a bad day and I’m not going to beat myself up about it, nor beat myself up about not exercising. There is always tomorrow and so long as I eat what I had planned to eat today, minus the protein shake, I will be fine.

This is a post to let you know that it is okay if you need a rest day too, you will not wake up in the morning with 0% stamina or gain 20lbs overnight. So long as you recognise that it is not procrastination in your individual case and you have earned a break, it is more than healthy and you should not feel guilty about it.

If you’re working out today, kill it! If you’re not, do not feel guilty for it and get back on it tomorrow. Whatever you do, look after yourself and remember your mental health is equally, if not more, important than your physical health.

8 thoughts on “It’s A-Okay if you need a rest day

    • And yet people, including myself, tend to be resistant, thinking it’s some kind of weakness. They feel guilty about not doing it as though they are letting themselves down. Being a perfectionist is probably one of my biggest downfalls admittedly.

      • I do sometimes feel that way, but I remind myself 1 missed workout won’t kill me. After all, I am just trying to stay healthy, have fun and look good. Not compete in the Olympics lol

  1. Resting is one of the hardest aspects to living a healthy life. Its also the most critical part…Yet we don’t rest as often as we need to. Great message today.

  2. I’ve been criticized by many friends for promoting that upbeat attitude… especially when I have a bad day and tell them about it. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! And many situations in my life have proven to me how that “annoying” attitude actually turns things around in an awesome way. The energy that animals provide us is incredible, it’s so awesome that you horseback ride! I think the bad days make the good ones even better ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Couldn’t agree more about the animals and having bad and good days. If they were all good days, we’d become ungrateful and complacent. Plus adversity is character building, I would be a completely different person today than I am now if I hadn’t had to work through some things. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

