Why I’ve decided to eat grass from now on

vegan symbol

So being vegan is something I’ve been umming and ahhing about for quite some time. While I wasn’t considering it to be a potentially ethical change, I think that is what decided it for me.

I haven’t eaten meat in 4 years just for health reasons, but for the past 2 I have been eating fish and seafood. However, I am a huge marine-lover (could you tell by the clownfish on my chest? ;P) and to read reports that 50% of the world’s sealife has been eradicated by our over-fishing absolutely breaks my heart. It is estimated that by 2050, we will have caused the sea’s ecosystem to collapse and there will be nothing more than plankton and algae in the sea. The thought that I am contributing to this disturbs me and it has decided my diet for me.

While I’m cutting out seafood, I thought I might as well try cutting out dairy too. I’m lactose intolerant, so I probably shouldn’t even be eating the stuff in the first place, but the hormones pumped into dairy food is linked with serious health conditions and that is a no no for me.

But will I be strictly vegan? The answer is no. As it is only for ethical reasons for my salty friends, I will still be consuming egg and honey. I’m hoping to find somewhere local to me where I can buy eggs from a source where I know they’re not using chicks as fodder for the hens, but we’ll see how that goes.

I’m hoping to find some cool vegan recipes and if they pass the taste test, I’ll be sure to post them for you all to try a vegan meal night once in a while!

One thought on “Why I’ve decided to eat grass from now on

  1. Good luck! I’ve been vegan (I eat honey from a local apiary) for 6 years- it gets easy! You can do it! The web is a phenomenal source of information. And your blog is about fitness- I know lots of vegans who are athletes, or who just work out. I ran my first half-marathon recently, and have never felt better. Enjoy your plant-based diet!

Leave a Reply

