Knowing when to say “when”

Photo by Mia Bruksman, used under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

When I get hooked on something, I am hooked line and sinker. I was the girl who Zumba’d with a chest infection in January and the girl who was out running in snow and minus temperatures in February. For the past 4 and a half months, I have been working out 5 – 6 times a week with no exceptions, I didn’t have sick days.

However, for the past 3 days now, I’ve been feeling nauseous, tired and headachey and I can’t shake it. I can’t explain it through a change in routine or diet, so I think it is simply down to the fact that I’m feeling burned out. So I need to learn when to say “when”.

For the next week, I’ll be taking a break from work outs other than Zumba twice a week and  dog walking to see how I feel. If I still feel rough, I’ll know it wasn’t my exercise regime and visit the doctors. If I do feel better, I’ll be back to normal and all is well with the world.

Don’t worry though, folks, I’ll still be around posting just as much but I’ll be geared more towards fitspo, healthy eating/living and exercise ideas for you guys.

Keep up with the fitness challenge unless you’ve lost a leg since we last spoke! I’ll be back on it by next Tuesday.

10 thoughts on “Knowing when to say “when”

  1. Overtraining is common, and fairly easy to fall into. Unfortunately, by the time the real symptoms like you’ve described kick in, it’s too late. Some major rest is needed. Any excercise schedule/program should have rest: lower impact weeks worked in on a constant rotating basis. Even my crazy P90X gives me a break ever fourth week. Wishing you speedy recovery!!

  2. I understand this perfectly about when to say when. I’m not there yet; today will be day 9-in a row. I am feeling it today though–the fatigue just a bit. I can’t workout on Thursday so I think I’ll hang in for today and tomrrow. By Thursday it will be 10-straight days and I for sure, think that that will be when to say when! We do need to listen to our bodies so I applaud you for giving up some things for the next week. Otherwise, I HOPE YOU BEGIN TO FEEL BETTER!

    • Thanks! I think it’s very important to know when to say when, sometimes we get it right, sometimes we get it wrong but when it comes to your health I think it’s better to be safe than sorry. Good luck with your work outs and enjoy your day off!

Leave a Reply

