Body conditioning session 1

Oh my god, body conditioning just about killed me. I nearly passed out doing press ups and felt sick from a lactic acid build up, which was thankfully neutralised by the milk in my protein shake. My core muscles will be sore tomorrow!

Kevin, my PT, told me body conditioning is just as important as weightlifting and that I need to alternate the two to achieve the results I desire. He gave me five exercises to do in 2 sets, wanting me to build it up to 3 as soon as possible.

5 exercises:

1 – Renegade row

The Renegade row is a toughy and expect your lower back to hurt if your muscles are underdeveloped. If you are struggling, be sure to do it slower, take longer breaks in between sets and even do shorter reps to begin with.

Placing dumbbells together and assuming the general push up position, have your legs shoulder width apart and steady yourself with your hands grasping the dumbbells on the floor. Raise one dumbbell up to your chest and back down, alternating between your left and right arm.

I used 5kg dumbbells with 20 reps, 2 sets.

Target: Back, General
Synergist: Rhomboids | Trapezius, Middle | Trapezius, Lower | Latissimus Dorsi | Pectoralis Major, Sternal | Deltoid, Posterior | Infraspinatus | Brachialis | Brachioradialis
Stabilizers: Rectus Abdominis | Obliques | Biceps Brachii | Triceps Brachii (of supporting arm) | Pectoralis Major, Sternal | Pectoralis Major, Clavicular | Deltoid, Anterior | Hip Flexors

2 – Dumbbell squats

Squat as you would normally, but hold a dumbbell in each hand, arms down to your sides. Be sure not to have your knees stick out further than your toes, shins running in a straight line to the floor.

I used 10kg dumbbells with 10 reps, 2 sets.

Target: Gluteus Maximus
Synergist: Quadriceps | Soleus
Stabilizers: Hamstrings | Gastrocnemius | Erector Spinae | Trapezius, Upper | Trapezius, Middle | Rectus Abdominis

3 – Push ups

Push ups have always been my nemesis, so doing 8 regular push ups was really tough for me. For the second set, I did push ups with my knees on the floor to minimise strains.

Target: Triceps Brachii
Synergist: Pectoralis Major, Sternal | Pectoralis Major, Clavicular | Deltoid, Anterior
Stabilizers: Rectus Abdominis | Obliques | Quadriceps | Biceps Brachii

4 – Moving plank

Starting off in the plank position, hold plank for 5 seconds then go up to hand on one side, then the other and back down to your elbows one by one again. Doing this counts as 1 rep, I did 2 sets of 5 reps.

Target: Rectus Abdominis
Synergist: Hip Flexors
Stabilizers: Trapezius, Upper | Deltoids, Anterior | Major, Sternal | Latissimus Dorsi | Erector Spinae | Obliques | Hamstrings

5 – Mountain climber

Requiring cardiovascular endurance as well as strength, mountain climbers are a bastard to do. I did 30 seconds of them in 2 sets and I sure felt it.

Start off as if you were at the starting block for a sprint, with a press up stance and one foot brought up closer to your chest, weight on the ball of your toe. Jump up and down while alternating which leg comes up to your chest.

Target: Hip Flexors
Synergist: Gluteus Maximus | Quadriceps
Stabilizers: Rectus Abdominis | Obliques | Hip Adductors | Pectorails Major, Sternal | Pectoralis Major, Clavicular | Deltoids, Anterior | Triceps Brachii

Muscle information and photos gathered from bodytrainer.tv

I had half my protein shake right before because I was still hungry despite having lunch. After doing the body conditioning and running for 15 minutes at a speed of 7.5 with 6 minutes total warm up and cool down, I had the rest of the shake. The running itself burnt 130 calories, not sure about the body conditioning.

I read a lot about supplementation for muscles yesterday so I bought some today, I’ll post about them tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Body conditioning session 1

Leave a Reply

