Lucy’s vegan banana nut muffins

vegan muffins

Photo by Riia Eats Right

I made these vegan muffins by simply adding things I had around the kitchen with the bananas and apple that needed eating. It went well except I added too much cinnamon so only use 1tsp if you try it for yourself!

Ingredients:
4 mashed bananas – the riper, the better
1 grated apple
4 tbsp olive oil
2 cups oat flour
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

How to:
Preheat oven to 350F/180C.
Mix mashed bananas with olive oil.
Add in oat flour, brown sugar, baking soda,vanilla extract and cinnamon.
Mix until relatively smooth (as smooth as you’re gonna get with these ingredients!) and add nuts.
Pour batter into cases.
Cook for 20 – 30 minutes depending on your cooker.

11 thoughts on “Lucy’s vegan banana nut muffins

    • I’ve just made the switch to vegan, except I’m still eating eggs and honey. I was a pescatarian (a vegetarian who eats seafood) for 2 years and a vegetarian for 1 year before that, however the ethical implications behind the damage done to our sea’s eco-systems really distresses me. Then I figured while I’m at it I’d cut out dairy too so I’m mostly vegan now. :)

      • That’s cool. I was swaying between vegetarian and vegan for a few years in high school, but I started to develop anemia despite supplementation and substitutions so I don’t think I can be vegan again it made me sick a lot and very weak. I noticed some people can do it and are fine while others not so much. Their body will accept certain things and not others you know ? I am all about being ethical, but even animals are hurt and/or killed to get our veggies so it’s really an uphill battle. I’d say the only real way to not be a part of it is grow your own garden and eat only that and maybe fish for your own fish if you were going to do that. Stay healthy though! I still love vegan recipes :-)

      • I agree, to be honest, if I were to do to it for 110% ethical reasons, I’d still have blood on my hands. Hypothetically, even if I had my own veg plot, I’d still be purchasing fertiliser from farms that support the meat industry; no one can have clean hands. I’m a massive fan of marine life, it’s somewhat of an obsession of mine so I just didn’t feel right knowing I was helping their demise. The dairy and meat weren’t ethical choices, they were always for my health. I’ll see how it goes and how I fare with the new diet and I’m prepared to make changes if needs be. :)

      • Yeah I understand. It’s not an easy thing to navigate, that’s for sure, but we all do our best. Yeah I love marine life. -sigh- you should post on it. Id love to learn more :-)

      • Isn’t it amazing? Hence why I’ve got a big clownfish tattooed on my chest, haha. I’m actually in the process of making a Tumblr solely for marine facts, I’ll post you the link when it’s up and running. :)

Leave a Reply

