A warning for those abusing laxatives to lose weight

I found this on Tumblr from a girl called Finnley who has been struggling with her ED for years. She does not promote unhealthy eating, in fact she posts warning the dangers of EDs. You can find her blog here – http://thevanishingofme.tumblr.com

And this is her post about the truth behind abusing laxatives:

“FOR EVERYONE WHO ASKS ME ABOUT LAXATIVES, AND FOR EVERYONE WHO THINKS THEY’RE A GOOD WAY TO LOSE “WEIGHT” AND GET A NICE TEENY TINY TUMMY.

I am here to tell you that you are WRONG. You will not get a teeny tiny tummy. You will get this. I’ve barely eaten in days and yet my stomach still looks like it is pregnant with a toddler because my colon is so inflamed from laxative abuse. It has been like this for years. Now, anytime I eat/consume anything, it swells. And it fucking sucks. So there you go. Laxatives in all their glory.”

This really surprised me. I’ve never even considered taking laxatives to lose weight before, but I know some of my lovely followers are battling their own ED demons, so I thought it was important to share this girl’s brave post, putting her mistake on the internet for all to see.

Lose weight through clean eating and exercise, not laxatives.

6 thoughts on “A warning for those abusing laxatives to lose weight

    • It’s shocking, isn’t it? What upsets me is that young girls will look at that Tumblr and see ‘thinspo’ instead of “I feel sorry for anyone struggling with an ED and I’m thankful I’m healthy”.

  1. It’s really brave of her to be so up front about this, especially since it isn’t all over and done with. I hope she has a counselor or nutritionist helping her (or both), or if she doesn’t I hope she gets one :-(

Leave a Reply

